My last entry was about how useful the website WhatsonFulgaz is for keeping track of completed rides and bookmarking potential rides.

A super new addition has been made to the site which now shows the segments on a ride. I give a worked example of my first use of this feature and how well it worked for me. Firstly I gnerally have the segment display option turned off in Fulgaz because

a) I am normally doing a planned workout so I dont react too them

b) I hate it when a segment lasts almost the full length of the ride – most notably on climbs.

The weekly challenge this week was a ride in South Africa and you can see the single segment below.

Clicking on that segment and you get the name and details of it, which allows you to look it up on Strava if you wish.

I had planned a steady ride to complete the challenge but I thought I might have a little dig at the segment which was at the end of the ride anyway. I set out nice and steady for an average of ~194w until the segment started and then pushed hard, trying to set a good 5 minute time. I manged 304w over the 6:30 time of the climb and brought the ride average power up to 218w.

So why am I pleased with this new feature? I follow TrainerRoad plans a lot of the time and they do not provide the opportunity for short hard efforts to keep your power demand curve up to date. I will do longer rides which keep my 20-60 minute profile reasonable accurate but not short bursts.Also, it is always nice to get a Xert Silver Breakthrough (Silver being when two of the three factors that comprise your fitness signatures are improved at the same time)

I hope others find the feature as useful as I will do.