As we move into the winter period (UK) I start to think about my challenges over the next 6 months or so.  Many are driven by the Facebook group Virtual Randonneuring, of which I have been a member for about 18 months and I have posted on the Fulgaz site saying how motivating I found it.

Randonneuring is a long-distance cycling sport with its origins in Brevet cycling. (also known as Audax in the UK, NZ, Australia and Brazil). This group is for indoor rides only. Graham, who manages the site has developed it well and runs a number of challenges which can all be seen on the Virtual Brevet website.

I am looking to complete 12 metric centuries before the end of year (but I have only completed 4 so far) and I am also participating in the 2023 Brevet challenge which is a series of 11 rides ranging from 60k to 1200k. Currently I have completed all up to a 130K ride and my next objectives are 160k and 200k. The 300k ride is a possibility but I doubt I will go much longer unless I have a massive burst of enthusiasm.

The screenshot below shows the elapsed time that is allowed for each challenge.

All that is pretty much the same for me as 2022. However I have added another couple of challenges in as well.

Rides around the Northern Italy Lakes totalling 1200km have been added to both Rouvy and Kinomap and I am looking to complete all 44 rides. These can be done in conjunction with the 100K rides although I would need to pick the rides with less climbing than some of the very hilly rides. The Lakes covered include Lake Maggiore, Como and Garda. Apart from the distance there is also 16,000 metres of climbing to contend with. I also am contemplating the Hallas versions of Everesting, namely 4424 and  8848 metres of climbing but with no downhill included to complete a half and full Everest. Only for my own benefit. I explained last year why I do not fancy an outside version.

I am close to 1000 individual routes on FulGaz and I will tick that off well before December. Most of my riding is done on FulGaz but I do use Rouvy for a few months in Winter for a bit of variety and to take part in some of the races and mini challenges. I find the gaining of levels via points quite addictive, in a similar way to Zwift.

Finally there is a new Fulgaz challenge the Ironman rides – which is a series of 12, roughly 60 minute long, rides covering sections of a variety of Ironman rides.

Enough to keep me busy I think. If not there is always the Rapha 500 Xmas challenge which I have completed for the last  two years.

Please subscribe using the ‘Follow’ link on the home page (bottom R/H corner)

Follow me on Strava https://www.strava.com/athletes/1621968

Comments and input welcome