Tags

, , , ,

At this time of the year I like to focus on my objectives for the years cycling. I do like to have something to push for otherwise I get rather lazy and aimless. Therefore I have set myelf two main objectives – which go hand in hand.

I want to ascend 100,000 metres on my bike, whether indoor or outdoor. In parallel with that I want to climb all the routes I can find virtually from the book Mountain High – Europe’s Greatest Cycle Climbs by Daniel Friebe and Pete Goding

Why 100K metres? A Strava buddy managed 200K metres in 2023 which I looked at and considered absolutely beyond me. I chatted to another buddy who said ‘My weekly goal on Strava is 1875m elevation so 7500m per lunar month, and 97500m per year.’. That seemed reasonable and fitted in with numbers I had achieved previously.

I had already decided to reclimb most of the European climbs on Fulgaz and I as I own the book I thought I might as well use their list.

Mountain High – Europe’s Greatest Cycle Climbs by Daniel Friebe and Pete Goding

I have compiled an Excel spreadsheet of all the rides and where they can be found using firstly Fulgaz and then Rouvy to identify the missing rides. The last few rides are shown below

I am making this available on Google (V1) for anybody to download and use themselves. I will be adding a column where Rouvy is the preferred app to complete the rides on. That will be loaded as V2

EDIT 14th Jan 2024. V2 now uploaded. Contains both Rouvy and Fulgaz routes. I will probably not ride the Rouvy map only climbs and I will likely use Rouvy Just Ride and Fulgaz section features to only do the climb part of some of the longer rides

On Fulgaz the code ‘LEGACY’ might need to be entered to see some of the older (retired) rides such as Angliru

Any mistakes, omissions or listed mountains that I have not found rides for please let me know in the comments or on Strava (see below for details)

I am still thinking about other challenges and I have a few ideas which I will probably post about shortly.

Please subscribe using the ‘Follow’ link on the home page (bottom R/H corner)

Follow me on Strava https://www.strava.com/athletes/1621968

Comments and input welcome